Skip to content

Guest Post: Why I drafted Bryan Weaver

April 15, 2011

My first encounter with Bryan was during the 2010 Democratic Primary, at a Ward 1 Council candidate forum. Before that time, all that I knew of Bryan was that he was an ANC commissioner who had small signs posted all over Ward 1. Being from Ward 3, a Ward 1 forum generally wouldn’t interest me; but I wanted to see who were the candidates that were confident enough to challenge the political machine that is Jim Graham.

Planning to run for political office myself, I wanted to hear what local politicians around the city had to say, and their different views on important topics that effect the District. Not hearing much of anything from politicians from other parts of the city, I came into the Ward 1 forum with low expectations. But to my surprise, one candidate stood out above the rest, and that was Bryan Weaver.

Every time Bryan gave an answer, I felt he gave great responses, but most importantly, his answers reflected the majority of the views that I had on the issues. After the Ward 1 candidate forum I wanted to vote for Bryan, but being from Ward 3, I sadly couldn’t.

To me, Bryan is someone who we need in the Wilson Building. He is someone who embraces everyone across the city, and doesn’t use affiliations (i.e. DC Native Status, Council Relationships) to try to pander to residents for their support. I’m tired of seeing the same career politicians lead the Nation’s Capital astray. We need someone new, with fresh ideas, who isn’t beholden to anyone but the citizens of the District of Columbia. Bryan’s push for better transparency and accountability at City Hall, is one of the main reasons that I continue to support Bryan.

Living in Washington, DC with my wife and daughter, I have been becoming more concerned with the direction the city is going. Education, Youth Issues, Gentrification, Safety, & the Economy have all become main concerns of District residents. These issues along with many others are what made me take the leap forward from sitting on the Board of the Glover Park Citizens Associations, to now being a Commissioner of ANC 3B. Serving as Commissioner for 8 years, I believe that Bryan understands what the city is facing, and isn’t afraid to step up when the city is calling for better leadership.

Bryan is one of the few local politicians that understands that the city is changing, and in order to move forward, we need to break from the ways of the past. That is why I got involved in the Draft Weaver effort, and am currently involved in the Weaver for At-Large Movement. I am not the only one who feels this way. My voice is just one of thousands who have been inspired by Bryan to step up, and get more involved in the future of our city.

My story is not that different from others throughout the District of Columbia. We all want Accountability. We all want Effective Leadership. We all want Change. As President Obama said, “We are the change that we have been waiting for.” So if we don’t pounce on this opportunity to elect a real leader in our city, then we have no one to blame but ourselves. I am voting for Bryan Weaver on April 26, 2011, and I hope you do to!

Mark Stevens, Ward Three Resident

Comments are closed.

