Skip to content

Guest Post: Why I support Bryan Weaver

April 18, 2011

When I started volunteering with Team Weaver I hadn’t even met Bryan in person.

I live in Ward 1, and noticed his campaign during the September primary election.  I was impressed with his issue positions – the fact that he had them posted on his website at all, and that I agreed with so many of them.  I was impressed with the passion that came across in his statements, especially his commitment to youth leadership development, and his strong support of human and civil rights.  If you care about these issues and have not read his statement on LGBTQ rights, you really should.  I think it is fair to say that I was sold after a few minutes on Bryan’s website. 

I voted for Bryan in the primary election, but had learned about his campaign too late to really get involved.  As soon as I heard he was entering the at-large race in the special election, I began to volunteer.  I collected petition signatures – in the cold, in the rain, and up until the final hours the evening before they were due.  I attended a neighborhood forum to show my support, and still, had not even met Bryan. That really didn’t matter – what mattered was that I was completely confident, and still am, that Bryan is the best person for this job.

I’ve been making phone calls, knocking on doors, and showing my support at community forums.  I have since met Bryan, and continue to be just as impressed with him in person as I was “on paper.”  A few weeks ago Bryan joined my husband and I at a meet and greet for our friends and neighbors and we listened as he inspired a number of them to volunteer and to pledge their votes.  His passion was contagious as he spoke about education reform, youth employment, and of course transparency.

Bryan is a good guy, a genuine guy, and a guy who cares about this city, its young people – all of its people – and will do his very best to represent them well.  He is qualified, consistent, and trustworthy.  He is kind and respectful and funny. He is everything I want in a council member.  So if all of this sounds as good to you as it does to me, I urge you to join me in endorsing Bryan, in voting for Bryan, and in encouraging your friends and neighbors to do the same.

–Holly Aprea Gibbons, Ward One Resident

Comments are closed.

